Near Me Map
Washington Medical Marijuana Guide
Washington Medical Marijuana Program Overview
Type of program: Medical and Recreational
The Washington state medical marijuana program has traveled a long and rocky road. After many years of battling between advocates and opponents, in 2011, the state legislature passed its first medical marijuana bill. The measure would have created a system of state-licensed growers, processors, and dispensaries. However, Governor Christine Gregoire vetoed most of the legislation. Over the next couple of years, several illegal dispensaries in Washington were raided and their owners arrested.
On November 6, 2012, I-502 was approved legalizing the possession of up to 1 ounce (28 g) of marijuana by adults. In accordance with the initiative, the Washington State Liquor Control board was given a deadline of December 1, 2013, to establish regulations for a recreational cannabis industry in Washington.
The Liquor Control Board initially planned to allow 334 retail stores and 2,000,000 square feet (190,000 m2) of growing space statewide.
On November 18, 2013, the state began accepting applications for marijuana business licenses and the first marijuana dispensaries in Washington opened to the public on July 8, 2014.
Licensed dispensaries with medical marijuana endorsement from the state are permitted to sell marijuana and other cannabis-infused products to all adults 21 years or older plus any medical marijuana patient over the age of 18.
Washington medical marijuana doctors
Medical marijuana doctors in Washington “may authorize the use of marijuana for any patient as long as it’s medically appropriate under state law and the profession’s standard of care.”
Qualifying patients who believe they would benefit from the use of medical marijuana may see any of the following types of healthcare practitioners licensed in Washington:
- Medical doctor (MD)
- Physician assistant (PA)
- Osteopathic physician (DO)
- Osteopathic physician assistant (DOA)
- Naturopathic physician
- Advanced registered nurse practitioner (ARNP)
List of Washington state medical marijuana doctors
Washington medical marijuana dispensaries
Washington marijuana dispensaries are permitted to sell products to both recreational users 21 or older. A separate permit is required to sell to medical marijuana cardholders and caregivers.
All medically endorsed marijuana dispensaries must have a certified medical marijuana consultant on staff to work with patients and issue medical marijuana cards. “Budtenders” are required to complete a 20-hour training program in order to qualify to be a certified medical marijuana consultant.
Certified medical marijuana consultants can only assist patients with entering patient and caregiver information into the medical marijuana database, creating medical marijuana cards, assisting patients with product selection, and explaining the risks and benefits of products and how to use them.
Patient possession limits
Qualified patients and caregiver may legally purchase any combination of the following cannabis products from a medical marijuana dispensary:
- 3 ounces, or 85 grams, of usable marijuana
- 48 ounces, or 1.36 kilograms, of marijuana-infused products in solid form
- 216 fluid ounces, or 6.39 liters, of marijuana-infused products in liquid form
- 21 grams of marijuana concentrate (hash, oil, wax, etc.)
How to get a Washington medical marijuana card
The first step toward obtaining a Washington medical marijuana card is to receive approval from a qualified medical marijuana doctor. Upon approval, patients can visit any medically endorsed marijuana dispensary to where a certified consultant will then enter the patient into a medical marijuana database. The patient will receive a medical marijuana card that enables them to shop at Washington marijuana dispensaries or to grow a limited number of marijuana plants at home.
Medical marijuana doctors in Washington state
Washington medical marijuana qualifying conditions
According to the Department of Health, the qualifying medical conditions for a Washington medical marijuana card are as follows:
- Human Immunodeficiency Virus (HIV)
- Multiple Sclerosis
- Epilepsy or other seizure disorder
- Spasticity disorders.
- Intractable pain, limited for the purpose of this chapter to mean pain unrelieved by standard medical treatments and medications.
- Glaucoma, either acute or chronic, limited for the purpose of this chapter to mean increased intraocular pressure unrelieved by standard treatments and medications.
- Crohn’s disease with debilitating symptoms unrelieved by standard treatments or medications.
- Hepatitis C with debilitating nausea or intractable pain unrelieved by standard treatments or medications.
- Chronic renal failure requiring hemodialysis.
- Posttraumatic stress disorder
- Traumatic brain injury
Furthermore, patients with terminal or debilitating medical conditions may be approved at the physician’s discretion.
Mental health conditions do not qualify.
For patients younger than 18, a parent or guardian must purchase and administer medical marijuana Washington. Both the patient and the parent or guardian will need to be entered into the state’s medical marijuana authorization database.
Washington medical marijuana patients can assign one caregiver or “designated provider.” Caregivers may only serve one patient at a time. Caregivers must be 21 years of age or older.
Washington medical marijuana doctors may examine patients via telemedicine only to renew a medical marijuana card. Telemedicine is not permitted for initial examinations.
State law strictly limits who can view database information and how the information can be used. Only medical marijuana doctors can access their patients’ healthcare information from the database. Law enforcement officials may only verify that a card is valid.
Washington state does not accept medical marijuana cards from out of state. However, any visitor 21 years of age or older may purchase marijuana at any of the state’s dispensaries without a medical marijuana card.
Washington Marijuana Laws
Marijuana-related DUI laws in Washington
In Washington, It is illegal for drivers under 21 to have any trace of marijuana in their blood while driving. Penalties are the same as for alcohol DUI.
Transporting cannabis in Washington
In Washington it is legal to transport marijuana in your car, however, it must be in a locked, safe, and secure storage compartment that is secured to the inside of the vehicle (eg: locked glove compartment).
Public consumption laws in Washington
Marijuana cannot be consumed in public view, such as on streets or sidewalks or in public parks, etc.
Social consumption venues are prohibited in Washington. It’s a class C felony “for any person to conduct or maintain a public place where marijuana is held or stored…or consumption of marijuana is permitted.”
Property owners or landlords may prohibit the consumption of marijuana on their property.
Washington medical marijuana cardholders may grow up to six plants for personal medical use, either in their home or as a member of a cooperative.
The legal possession limit of usable marijuana for a medical marijuana patient is 8 ounces or 227 grams. Medical marijuana doctors can authorize at their discretion up to 15 plants and possession of up to 16 ounces of usable marijuana.
Washington residents 21 or older are permitted to grow four plants without a medical marijuana card.
Washington marijuana and guns
Although marijuana is legal in the state of Washington, it is still Federally prohibited. Therefore gun purchase or ownership is currently prohibited for anyone that consumes marijuana.
Learn more about marijuana and guns
Washington hemp and CBD laws
All hemp flower, hemp-derived CBD, and other hemp products are legal in Washington state and may be purchased by individuals of all ages. However, many shops that sell CBD products require customers to be at least 18 years of age.
Learn more about Washington hemp and CBD laws
Washington medical marijuana information
Washington medical marijuana contact
- Email: MedicalMarijuana@doh.wa.gov
- Phone: 360-236-4819