Full Maryland Dispensary List

Maryland Marijuana Dispensary Guide

Marijuana Program Overview

Type of program: Medical 

Maryland Medical Marijuana

Back in the 1980’s Kurt Schmoke, Baltimore’s progressive mayor was a strong advocate for the decriminalization of marijuana. He felt the War on Drugs was a waste of resources and that it unfairly targeted minorities. Three decades later, Governor Martin O’Malley would successfully decriminalize the possession of small amounts (10 grams or less) of marijuana in the state of Maryland. This measure provided a stepping stone towards the legitimization of medical marijuana in the state.

In spite of the bold move enacted by Governor O’Malley, years would pass before medical marijuana was legalized in Maryland. The Governor would eventually sign HB 881 in 2014, creating the Maryland Medical Cannabis Commission (MMCC) thereby establishing guidelines and regulations for the medical marijuana industry. The bill covered many aspects of the fledgling industry including consumption, cultivation, possession, and distribution of cannabis to patients 18 years of age and older.

The MMCC is responsible for all testing, licensing, registration, and inspection of all aspects of Maryland’s medical marijuana program. They also oversee the patient and caregiver registry to ensure the safety and availability of medical marijuana to all registered patients in the state.

In December of 2017, Maryland’s first medical marijuana dispensary opened its doors to the public. By the end of 2018, more than 70 dispensaries were opened throughout the state. In the first year, more than 60,000 patients were registered and the industry reported almost $100 million in revenue.

HB 617/ SB 604, a bill allowing the administration of medical marijuana to qualified students during school hours and events was signed by Governor Hogan in May of 2020. This bill was also known as “Connor and Raina’s Law.”

In August 2019, the MMCC released its regulatory changes, adding dentists, podiatrists, certified nurse midwives, and nurse practitioners to the list of eligible providers.

On October 1, 2020, a bill permitting physician assistants to prescribe medical marijuana to qualifying patients was put into effect without the governor’s signature.

Maryland medical marijuana dispensaries

Maryland’s first medical marijuana dispensary opened in late 2017. Since 2018, more than 70 legal facilities have opened their doors to patients. 

Click here for a list of Maryland medical marijuana dispensaries.

products available at Maryland dispensaries

  • CBD 
  • Concentrates and Oils
  • Flower/Smokable 
  • Edibles
  • Capsules
  • Tinctures 
  • Rubs/Topicals

Patient purchase and possession limits

The state of Maryland allows all qualifying medical marijuana patients to legally purchase and possess a 30-day supply of cannabis consisting of up to 120 grams (4 ounces) at one time. Alternatively, patients may possess up to 36 grams (1 ounce) of THC-infused products. Patients may be eligible for higher quantities based on the recommendation of their health care provider.

MD marijuana deliveries RX: Delivery

Qualifying medical marijuana patients are allowed to have their products delivered to their door in the state of Maryland. Many facilities offer free delivery and are open seven days a week. Each dispensary dictates its own regulations and hours for delivery options.

Age Restrictions

Qualifying medical marijuana patients must be 18 years of age to obtain a medical marijuana card in the state of Maryland. Minors with a qualifying condition may have a parent or legal guardian act as their caregiver and administer medical marijuana.

Marijuana Doctors

How to get a Maryland medical marijuana card

Patients must be legal residents of Maryland with a valid, government-issued ID or other proof of residency. A passport-style photo is also required. 

A non-resident may register as a patient if the individual: (1) is physically in the state, (2) is admitted to a Joint Commission accredited medical facility, (3) will be dispensed medical cannabis at the medical facility during an inpatient stay, and (4) will complete the treatment prior to release. 

In order to be approved for a Maryland medical marijuana card, patients must first be examined by an MMCC-registered healthcare provider and register with the MMCC. 

Click here for a list of medical marijuana doctors in Maryland.

Qualifying Conditions:

 

Caregivers

Upon registration with the MMCC patients may designate a Maryland medical marijuana caregiver to purchase and administer their medicine. Caregivers may provide assistance for up to five qualifying patients. 

Caregivers must be 21 years of age, legal residents of Maryland with a valid ID and a passport-style photo.

Designated caregivers must be registered before purchasing cannabis products from licensed dispensaries. A caregiver registration form is available on the MMCC Registry website.

The registration for all caregivers in Maryland is valid for two years.

Fees

There is a $50 application fee to obtain a medical marijuana card in Maryland. The fee may be waived if a VA or Maryland Medical Assistance card is provided.

Confidentiality

All medical marijuana patient records in Maryland are protected by HIPPA as it has established strict requirements as per the transmission, collection, and storage of patient health records.

Reciprocity

At present, the state of Maryland does not accept or recognize out-of-state medical marijuana cards. That being said, individuals from other states who feel they qualify for medical marijuana status may apply for a card.

Maryland Marijuana Laws

Marijuana-related DUI laws in Maryland

The state of Maryland deems that driving a motor vehicle under the influence of medical or other marijuana constitutes a DUI, resulting in the same harsh penalties applied to an alcohol-related charge.

Maryland marijuana and guns

According to the Maryland Medical Cannabis Commission, marijuana is still categorized as a Schedule I Controlled Substance. This law effectively makes all possession and purchase of firearms illegal in the state of Maryland if an individual consumes any form of marijuana. This includes the use of medical marijuana.

Public consumption laws

In the state of Maryland medical or recreational marijuana consumption is unlawful in “any” public place,

Manyland medical marijuana patients are required to sign a statement affirming they understand that they are not immune from any prohibition on smoking cannabis in a public place or in a motor vehicle, or on private property where it is prohibited by the property owner.

Social consumption: 

There are no legal medical marijuana consumption lounges in the state of Maryland at this time. 

Workplace laws

Although medical marijuana patient information is protected under HIPAA laws, Maryland employers are within their rights to ask applicants if they use medical marijuana as well as to conduct random drug tests to determine marijuana use. If a patient tests positive in violation of a company policy, they may face disciplinary action or termination. 

Renters

At this time, in Maryland, landlords can evict their tenants from the property at their discretion if the tenant is using medical marijuana in their residence without permission.

Home cultivation: prohibited

At present, it is illegal to cultivate medical marijuana for personal use in the state of Maryland. Growing marijuana in Maryland could result in felony charges, even if it is for medical reasons.

Maryland hemp and CBD laws

All forms of hemp-derived CBD products are legal in the state of Maryland. All Maryland residents can buy CBD online or at local shops.

Scroll to Top