Nationwide Leaf

CT Dispensaries

Newdelz Legal Cannabis Industry Map

Connecticut Cannabis Store Brands

CT Dispensaries

Connecticut Marijuana Dispensary Guide

Table of Contents

CT Regulated Cannabis Program Overview

Type of program: Medical and Recreational

Connecticut was the 17th state in the U.S. to legalize medical marijuana back in 2012. The MMP was established under the Connecticut Palliative Use of Marijuana Act. Under the act, patients suffering from a list of qualifying medical conditions might be eligible for a Connecticut medical marijuana card. 

More than 50,000 patients have enrolled in the Connecticut MMP since 2012. And there are more than 1,400 registered physicians. 

In order to take part in the medical marijuana program, patients must be at least 18 years of age and be a resident of Connecticut.

Connecticut legalized adult recreational marijuana use in May 2021 making Connecticut the 19th state to legalize the adult recreational use of marijuana.

Adults 21 and older will be allowed to possess 1.5 ounces of marijuana as well as to grow their own cannabis as of June 2020. Recreational dispensary sales are expected to launch by May of 2022.

Connecticut Marijuana Dispensaries

Recreational marijuana dispensary sales are expected to launch by May of 2022.

There are currently 18 state-licensed medical marijuana dispensaries in Connecticut. All 18 are serviced by four growers. These numbers may change in the future.

Available products

Connecticut dispensaries are permitted to sell all forms of marijuana and cannabis-infused products including dried flower for smoking, vaping, and cooking, edibles, oils and concentrates, pills and capsules, transdermal patches, suppositories, etc.

Delivery

Some medical marijuana dispensaries in Connecticut offer home delivery. Contact your local dispensary for info.

Purchase and possession limits

Registered patients are allowed to purchase up to 2.5 ounces of dried marijuana per month. However, the patient’s physician can specify a lower limit.

Connecticut Medical Marijuana Cards 

The process of applying for a medical marijuana card in Connecticut is fairly straightforward. All applications are submitted online. 

Patients must first be approved by a certified Connecticut medical marijuana doctor. Patients are required to have an ongoing relationship with the recommending physician. 

If the patient qualifies, the doctor will provide the proper documents to include with the medical marijuana card application. 

Processing of applications can take up to 30 days but often takes place much sooner. Once approved, the patient will receive a temporary card via email which can be used to buy cannabis at Connecticut medical marijuana dispensaries.

Physician Requirements

In order to recommend medical marijuana in Connecticut, the healthcare provider must be a licensed physician or advanced practice registered nurse.

Qualifying Conditions:

In order to qualify for a medical marijuana card in Connecticut, a patient needs to be diagnosed with any of the following qualifying medical conditions: 

Additional qualifying conditions could be added in the future by the Board of Physicians. The public can petition the Board to recommend additional medical conditions to be added to the list of qualifying conditions.

Fees

There is a $100 registration fee.

Renewals

Your Connecticut medical marijuana card is good for one year from the date of issue. The process of renewing your card is essentially the same. Visit your doctor for a follow-up appointment. Then Sign onto your portal account and update any information that has changed. There is a $100 renewal fee.

Age restrictions

Patients must be 18 years or older to obtain a Connecticut medical marijuana card.

Caregivers

If a physician concludes that a patient is in need of a caregiver, then the patient may identify one person to serve as their primary caregiver to purchase marijuana on their behalf. 

All primary caregivers must be at least 18 years of age and must register with the Connecticut Medical Marijuana Program and must pass a criminal background check before they will be issued a registration certificate.

Telehealth

Until June 30, 2023, doctors are permitted to examine patients via telemedicine (phone or video conference). may issue a written certification to a qualifying patient and provide any follow-up care using telehealth services during the period beginning on the effective date of this section and ending on June 30, 2023.

Find a Telemedicine Doctor in CT

Health insurance 

Health insurance providers are not required to cover the costs of medical marijuana treatment.

Reciprocity

Connecticut dispensaries are only allowed to sell to qualified patients who are residents of Connecticut. No reciprocity is offered to out-of-state residents.

What is medical marijuana reciprocity – MedCard

Connecticut marijuana laws

Drugged Driving 

Drugged driving works the same as drunk driving under Connecticut law and can result in loss of license, substantial fines, and potentially jail time. 

Renters 

A landlord cannot refuse to rent to a medical marijuana patient not can they take action against a tenant for using marijuana. 

Employers 

Employers may not use medical marijuana use as a reason to not hire, fire, or penalize patients. However, they may prohibit the use of marijuana during work hours and discipline employees who do so. 

Public consumption

The use of medical marijuana in public is prohibited and can result in criminal charges. Furthermore, patients may not use marijuana in any public place, in moving vehicles including buses, at work, at any school, public or private, or in the presence of a minor.

Home cultivation: prohibited...YES

Medical marijuana patients were originally prohibited from growing marijuana. However, Connecticut recently legalized adult recreational use allowing adults 21 and older to grow their own cannabis.

Learn to Home Grow Cannabis

Connecticut medical marijuana and guns

Marijuana is a Schedule I Controlled Substance and federally illegal in spite of medical cannabis’ legal status in Connecticut.  

The databases for concealed weapons permits and medical marijuana are not cross-referenceable. However, it’s a crime to lie on any federal form and may be punishable by up to five years in prison.

More on Cannabis & Firearms

CT hemp and CBD laws

All hemp products including CBD and other hemp-derived cannabinoids are legal in Connecticut. 

Learn more about Connecticut hemp and CBD laws

Buy CBD online in Connecticut

Scroll to Top