Alaska Marijuana Dispensaries Guide
- Recreational marijuana is legal in Alaska. There are no dedicated medical dispensaries. Visitors and residents must e 21 years or older to purchase.
- Alaska dispensaries can be found in Abundance in the Fairbanks area as well as Juneau and Anchorage.
- Public consumption is not permitted, however, there are social consumption venues in Alaska.
- Lodging and tour services have their own rules. Check marijuana policies in advance. And avoid using cannabis on Federal lands.
Tourists' Guide to Alaska Marijuana Dispensaries and Laws
If you live in Alaska, and you’re a cannabis consumer, then you probably have a good handle on what’s going on up there in the Great White North. However, if you plan on visiting Alaska and you would like to partake for either medical or recreational use, there are a few things you should know.
For starters, if you’re a medical user, you will not need to flash your medical marijuana card at Alaska dispensaries. There are no dispensaries dedicated to medical use. There are only recreational dispensaries in Alaska.
Anyone 21 or older with a valid ID can legally buy weed at any Alaska dispensary. If you’re under 21, your MMJ card is no good. (If you’re an Alaska resident with a medical marijuana card, you may be able to buy cannabis at dispensaries in states that offer reciprocity such as Oklahoma dispensaries.)
The maximum amount of marijuana you’re able to purchase or receive as a gift is one ounce. Alaska dispensaries, like all nationwide dispensaries, accept cash only at this time. There are usually ATM machines on site.
Where to buy weed in Alaska (and other cannabis products)
Alaska dispensaries are mostly located in the more popular tourist destinations such as Fairbanks, Anchorage, and the capital, Juneau.
Local Alaska dispensaries boast a wide array of cannabis products such as tincture, edibles, skin creams, bud, hash, edibles, and oils. They also carry several CBD products.
Generally, the prices for bud range from $10 to $20 per gram. Most facilities have a tip jar handy for their well-informed budtenders, although tipping is not required.
Alaska dispensaries, as a rule, allow customers to both smell and see their flower products. However, no one is permitted to touch or handle the flower.
Driving with marijuana in Alaska
The state of Alaska has no special requirements for transporting marijuana products in motor vehicles.
Anchorage does, however, does have a bylaw stating that all cannabis products should be transported in either the trunk of the vehicle or the last row of seats. Cannabis products should also be in a sealed, unopened container.
If law enforcement pulls you over and suspects that you’re stoned, they can ask you to perform a standard field sobriety test, according to the Alaska State Troopers and Anchorage Police Department. Additionally, if impairment is suspected, further evaluation will be employed by a drug recognition officer.
Flying in and out of Alaska
Alaska Airlines has a very strict “no marijuana” policy. Under federal law, cannabis products are not allowed onboard in either carry-on or checked luggage. This law applies to smaller airlines as well. Pilots who knowingly allow cannabis products onboard are subject to harsh penalties and may lose their license.
However, over the last few years, as marijuana laws evolve, airport police in Anchorage and Fairbanks tend to overlook small amounts of cannabis found in luggage. In these cases, state law is applied, allowing individuals to carry up to an ounce of marijuana on their person.
Most of these cases are left up to the discretion of the TSA official. But if they suspect any laws might be broken they will refer the matter to local authorities. Usually, the individual will be permitted to continue through the checkout with their product. However, in some scenarios, the TSA may ask the passenger to leave their marijuana behind.
The bottom line is, if you’re flying into Alaska, then it’s probably wise to purchase your cannabis products in Alaska and not risk bringing them on your flight. You could be charged with a crime, or have your cannabis confiscated.
Bringing marijuana on ferries, tour boats, and cruise ships in Alaska
Alaska is famous for its tour cruises and ferry system. However, you need to keep in mind that the waters of Alaska come under the jurisdiction of the U.S. Coast Guard. And marijuana is illegal federally. The Coast Guard has the authority to seize marijuana, and “pursue criminal action under federal law.”
That being said, it’s unlawful to carry marijuana on ferries in Alaska. However, the Alaska Marine Highway System and Southeast ferry officials don’t actively seek out individuals carrying small amounts of cannabis.
All cruise ships forbid the carrying and use of marijuana onboard. Boarding a cruise ship is similar to going through airport security. All bags are scanned. If you’re not averse to the risk of losing your stash, you might be able to safely bring edibles onboard.
Alaska national parks and cannabis
There are approximately 54 million acres of federal parks and preserves in Alaska. Using marijuana is prohibited on all Federal lands including wildlife sanctuaries, National Forests, and the Bureau of Land Management land.
If an individual is caught smoking in a park or preserve, they might receive a federal citation. These citations are usually a misdemeanor. Usually, however, unless you’re carrying excessive amounts of marijuana you’ll just be asked to leave.
Public and social consumption of marijuana in Alaska
Under Alaska law, public use of cannabis is forbidden and an individual can be fined up to $100 if they are caught imbibing outside of a private residence. The fine is similar to a traffic ticket and is not a criminal offense. The number of tickets being handed out each year can probably be counted on one hand.
In Alaskan dispensaries, there will be areas for customers to imbibe cannabis products in the store. These legal-consumption salons will probably open in mid-July, 2022.
The laws for these “on-site consumption” areas went into effect in April 2019, after the Marijuana Control Board greenlit the concept in 2018. Alaska is the first state with laws in place for regulating these spaces. Existing facilities may apply for the endorsement of a smoking area in their shop. All dispensaries applying for this allowance must pitch their development plans to the MCB.
Consuming marijuana in hotels in Alaska
Smoking marijuana is a tad risky in most Alaskan hotels, most of which have strict “no smoking” policies. The worst that can happen is they throw you out of the hotel.
Marijuana delivery services in Alaska
Sorry. Alaska’s laws don’t allow for delivery.
Alaska Marijuana Laws
Here are some vital pieces of information on Alaskan marijuana laws:
- Alaska marijuana purchase limits
Adults are allowed to possess up to one ounce of marijuana on their person. Alaska residents are allowed to possess up to four ounces in their homes. Additionally, possession of up to 3 grams of concentrate or hash is permitted.
- Growing marijuana in Alaska
Individuals 21 and over are legally allowed to cultivate up to six marijuana plants (only three mature plants) for personal use per person. Those living together with others in private residences are allowed to collectively grow up to 25 plants.
- Sharing and gifting marijuana in Alaska
Gifting or sharing of one ounce or 6 immature plants is permitted as long as the recipient is 21 years of age or over.
- Penalties for possession of marijuana in Alaska
If you are busted for possession of more than 1 ounce in Alaska, you may be subject to 1 year in prison or fined up to $10,000. This also applies to the possession of up to 3 grams of concentrate or hash.
It is also illegal to consume marijuana within 500 feet of school grounds, a school bus or any recreation or youth center. This class C felony is punishable by up to a $50,000 fine or 5 years of incarceration.
- Penalties for selling marijuana in Alaska
It’s illegal to sell, or intend to sell marijuana products in Alaska without a license. This offense is punishable by up to a $10,000 fine or 1 year in prison. If the crime involves an ounce or more, then it’s considered a class C felony, punishable by up to a $50,00 fine or five years in prison.
Any individual busted for selling marijuana to anyone under the age of 19 could be subjected to fines of up to $100,000 and 10 years in prison.
Staying legal in Alaska
- It’s best not to bring marijuana or cannabis products into Alaska.
- It’s easy enough to buy if you’re in a heavily populated area.
- Avoid conspicuous public consumption if you want to avoid getting a ticket.
- Check the smoking/cannabis consumption policy where you plan on lodging.
- If you’re going on a tour of some kind, it’s best to leave the flower back at the room and use something less conspicuous.
- Avoid bringing marijuana onto federal lands.
- Don’t get high and drive. And keep your stash in the trunk.
Other than that, have a great time while you’re here in Alaska and enjoy the fruits of local growers. Cheers.