WV Dispensaries

Locator loading...

West Virginia Dispensary List

WV Marijuana Dispensary Guide

West Virginia Regulated Cannabis Program Overview

Type of program: Medical

West Virginia Medical Marijuana

West Virginia’s medical marijuana program was created under Senate Bill 386. The law passed in April of 2017 and signed by Governor Jim Justice. 

The West Virginia Medical Cannabis Act allows registered patients diagnosed with one of several qualifying medical conditions to purchase medical marijuana at a state-licensed dispensary. 

The marijuana commission consists of 16 members, including the secretary of the Department of Health and Human Resources and commissioner of the Department of Health and Human Resources.

Contact information and links are available at the bottom of this page.

West Virginia medical marijuana dispensaries

A list of 100 approved Medical Cannabis Dispensary Permits was released by the West Virginia Department of Health and Human Resources (DHHR) on Friday, Jan, 29, 2021.

Available products

Patients are permitted to possess cannabis in the following formulations: 

Delivery

Home delivery of medical marijuana is currently not available to West Virginia medical marijuana patients.

Age Limits

Patients younger than 18 with a qualifying medical condition may obtain medical marijuana through a caregiver. 

A parent or legal guardian must apply for the patient identification card on behalf of the minor patient. 

Once the patient identification card is issued, the parent or legal guardian, the person designated by a parent or legal guardian, or an individual approved by the Bureau in the absence or unavailability of a parent or legal guardian, will then apply as a caregiver.

Get certified for medical marijuana

How to get a West Virginia medical marijuana card

In order to obtain a West Virginia medical marijuana card, prospective patients must consult with a state-certified medical marijuana doctor and obtain a completed “Physician’s Certification for Qualified Patients” form. 

Physicians must complete an approved 4-hour course to be authorized to certify medical cannabis patients.

Once a patient is approved by the physician they need to complete an application and submit payment (unless financial hardship waiver is requested and approved). Patients are required to upload a copy of the form as well as a state-issued I.D. and proof of residence into the documents section of the online application. 

A fee of $50 must be remitted along with the application.

30-60 days after the application and payment are received, the patient application will be reviewed. The patient will receive an email regarding the status of their application upon review.

If an application is denied, the patient will be informed of the reason. If the application needs a correction, it will be rejected and sent back to be corrected and resubmitted. 

If an application is approved, a WV Medical Cannabis card will be issued. 

Cards will expire after one year. 

West Virginia medical marijuana doctors

Qualifying medical conditions for a West Virginia medical marijuana card

In order to be approved for a West Virginia medical marijuana card, patients must be diagnosed with one of the following qualifying medical conditions:

Caregivers

Medical marijuana patients in West Virginia may designate a “caregiver” to purchase and administer their medicine. Caregivers must be 21 years of age or older and must submit an application online for an identification card. Caregivers must also undergo a criminal history background check.

Telemedicine

Available 

West Virginia  marijuana laws

Public consumption laws in West Virginia 

Public consumption of marijuana, medical or otherwise is strictly prohibited in the state of West Virginia.

The recreational use of Marijuana is illegal in West Virginia. Possession of even small amounts is a misdemeanor crime.

Workplace laws

West Virginia medical marijuana patients may be prohibited by an employer from performing any duty which could result in a public health or safety risk while under the influence of medical cannabis. Furthermore, patients may be prohibited from performing any task which the employer deems life-threatening, to either the employee or any of the employees of the employer, while under the influence of medical cannabis. 

Medical marijuana patients may not operate or be in physical control of vehicles and heavy machinery while under the influence with a blood content of more than three nanograms of active tetrahydrocannabis per milliliter of blood in serum.

Patients may not perform employment duties at heights or in confined spaces, including, but not limited to, mining while under the influence of medical cannabis.

Home cultivation: prohibited

Growing marijuana for personal use is prohibited in the state of West Virginia. Doing so may result in felony charges, even if it is being cultivated for legitimate medical reasons.

Public consumption laws in West Virginia 

Public consumption of marijuana, medical or otherwise is strictly prohibited in the state of West Virginia.

The recreational use of Marijuana is illegal in West Virginia. Possession of even small amounts is a misdemeanor crime. 

Social consumption - Prohibited

Social consumption lounges are not permitted under West Virginia medical marijuana laws.

West Virginia marijuana and guns

FNH SC1 Green

Marijuana, medical or otherwise is still categorized as an illegal Schedule I Controlled Substance on a federal level. This law makes it illegal for anyone in the state of West Virginia to purchase guns or ammunition if they also consume any marijuana products.

What Gun Owners Need To Know Before Getting a Medical Marijuana Card

Marijuana-related DUI laws in West Virginia

Driving under the influence of marijuana in the state of West Virginia could result in the same harsh penalties as alcohol-related offenses.

West Virginia hemp and CBD laws

The state of West Virginia allows the sale, possession, and consumption of all hemp-derived CBD products. These CBD products can be purchased online or at local shops in the state.

Reciprocity

West Virginia medical marijuana card is valid only in West Virginia and offers no legal protection for products obtained outside of the West Virginia medical cannabis system. 

Medical Marijuana Card Reciprocity

Scroll to Top