New England Marijuana Dispensaries | Find Nearby Cannabis Products
- The New England region consists of the six northernmost states in the Northeastern United States: Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, and Vermont.
- Marijuana is either decriminalized or legalized for adults in all six New England states.
- There is also a medical marijuana program in all six New England states.
- Connecticut, Massachusetts, Maine, and Vermont have all legalized adult recreational use of marijuana.
Table of Contents
Connecticut Marijuana Laws
Medical and recreational marijuana are legal in Connecticut.
Adult recreational marijuana in Connecticut
Recreational use of cannabis by adults over age 21 became legal in Connecticut. The 2021 law legalized possession up to 1.5 ounces of cannabis and cultivation of marijuana by adults. It also expunges low-level criminal records related to marijuana.
Medical marijuana in Connecticut
Connecticut Governor Dannel Molloy signed Senate bill 5389 to legalize medical marijuana in 2012. Qualifying patients are allowed up to 2.5 ounces per month, unless a medical practitioner directs otherwise. Patients under the age of 18 must have a designated, registered caregiver to procure their cannabis for them. Patients are permitted to cultivate their own cannabis plants.
CT Marijuana Resources:
Massachusetts Marijuana Laws
Medical and adult recreational marijuana are legal in Massachusetts.
Adult recreational marijuana in Massachusetts
Massachusetts allows the purchase and use of recreational marijuana by people over age 21. Purchasers do not need to be Massachusetts residents; they must have a government-issued ID. You may have up to one ounce of weed and up to five grams of marijuana concentrate outside of your home. Using marijuana in public is prohibited. See more on the laws for more details and links for Massachusetts marijuana laws.
Medical marijuana in Massachusetts
On November 6, 2012, Massachusetts became the eighteenth state to legalize medical marijuana. The law eliminated penalties for the possession of cannabis and allowed qualifying patients with a state-issued medical card to purchase and possess a 60-day supply of marijuana. The law came into full effect on January 1, 2013.
MA Marijuana Resources:
Maine Marijuana Laws
Medical and adult recreational marijuana are legal in Maine.
Adult recreational marijuana in Maine
On Nov. 8, 2016, Maine voters passed An Act to Legalize Marijuana. Under the new law, adults, 21 years of age and older are permitted to possess, use, transport and give away up to 2.5 ounces of recreational cannabis and 5 grams of concentrate. Adults are allowed to grow up to three mature plants, 12 immature plants, and unlimited seedlings. Residents are permitted to give away, free of charge, up to six immature plants to other adults 21 years of age and older.
Medical marijuana in Maine
Voters passed the Maine Medical Marijuana Act in 2009, effectively expanding the existing program that decriminalized the possession of 2.5 ounces of marijuana. A system of nonprofit cultivators and dispensaries was created, officially establishing the Maine Medical Use of Marijuana Program (MMMP.)
ME Marijuana Resources:
New Hampshire Marijuana Laws
Medical marijuana is legal in New Hampshire. Possession for personal use is decriminalized.
Marijuana is decriminalized in NH
New Hampshire has decriminalized marijuana. There is no prison time or criminal record for first-time possession of a small amount for personal use. Possession of less than three-quarters of an ounce of marijuana gets a $100 fine. Growing marijuana is prohibited in New Hampshire.
Medical marijuana in New Hampshire
New Hampshire allows the use of medical marijuana for patients with chronic or terminal diseases and medical conditions. The law is one of the stricter medical marijuana bills in the nation. New Hampshire allows the use of medical marijuana only after all other treatment methods have failed. Patients are not permitted to grow their own cannabis.
NH Marijuana Resources:
Rhode Island Marijuana Laws
Medical marijuana is legal in Rhode Island. Possession for personal use is decriminalized.
Marijuana is decriminalized in Rhode Island
Rhode Island has decriminalized marijuana. There is no prison time or criminal record for first-time possession of a small amount for personal use. Possession of a small amount for one’s own use is treated like a minor traffic violation punishable by a $150 fine, no jail time, and no criminal record.
Medical marijuana in RI
Rhode Island was the 11th state to legalize medical marijuana back in 2005. However, it wasn’t until June of 2009 that the state officially launched its regulated cannabis industry. Patients may grow up to 12 plants and 12 seedlings in one location. Today the program serves more than 20,000 patients.
RI Marijuana Resources:
Vermont Marijuana Laws
Medical and recreational marijuana are legal in Vermont.
Adult recreational marijuana in Vermont
People over age 21 may legally possess one ounce or less of marijuana. Having one to two ounces is a misdemeanor with fines. You may not smoke marijuana in public or in any place where you are prohibited from smoking tobacco. You may not drive under the influence of ingesting cannabis. See more on the laws for more details and links for Vermont marijuana laws.
Medical marijuana in Vermont
Vermont was the 7th U.S. state to legalize medical marijuana back in 2004. More recently, the state became the first in the U.S. to legalize recreational marijuana via an act of the legislature. Under the original 2004 medical marijuana laws, patients suffering from qualifying medical conditions were permitted to grow their own marijuana. The list of conditions was expanded in 2007. At the same time, cultivation limits were increased. Medical marijuana patients in Vermont are now permitted to have two adult cannabis plants and seven immature plants. Today there are more than 6,000 medical marijuana patients in Vermont.